Nuttallburg is an old abandoned mining town on the New River. The mine was built in the 1870s, and it was sold to Henry Ford's Fordson Coal Company in 1920. The mine, and the Nuttallburg post office were closed in the 1950s, and the train depot followed suite a few years later. With no coal production and limited contact with the outside world, the town was abandoned.The National Park Service complete a restoration project at Nuttallburg in September 2011. Visitors can explore the coke ovens and ruins of the company store and homes, and view the magnificent tipple that once transported coal from the mine in the mountain down to the town and the railroad tracks. Visitor parking is located in a designated area that is a 5-7 minute walk away. There is limited handicap parking closer to the site. The road down to the designated parking area is narrow mountain road. Please drive cautiously. The road is not suitable for RVs.