Our Area

Southern West Virginia

Our part of West Virginia is wonderful. We’re comprised of the nine counties spread east to west and south to central across the Mountain State. To truly get an understanding of these mountains, you have to experience them, to experience you have to visit.

Maps and Locations

Sure, you know Virginia. And you know ‘west’. But can you put them together and find us on a map? Now you can.


Four full seasons with every kind of weather you can imagine is what we’ve got for you. Like storms? We have great ones. Sunny days make your mood? We have lots of those. Check the current conditions here.

Our Eastern Edge

In Monroe and Greenbrier Counties, you’ll find the unspoiled wilderness that forms part of the incredible Allegheny Ridge. There’s the wonderful artisan center of Lewisburg for a taste of regional culture, along with remote peaks, scenic drives, and rural living throughout the area.

Central Plateau And Valleys

Mercer, Summers, Raleigh, Fayette, and Nicholas counties comprise the central New River Gorge Region of the state. Commerce is abundant thanks to the major transportation options here. Also, this is where the New, Bluestone, and Gauley Rivers flow, and the opportunities for adventure are plentiful.

Southern Mountains

The southern mountains are steep and the heritage is proud in McDowell and Wyoming counties. This is the heart of the Coal Heritage trail, and to motor sports adventurers, it’s the entrance to the massive Hatfield-McCoy Trail system.


Sign up to receive Visit Southern West Virginia's newsletter, full of information about what to see and do during your visit to the region, and our quarterly digital magazine, with interactive stories about the region.
* indicates required

CALL US 1-800-847-4898