Get Your Free Travel Guide

Search Website:

Monroe County Courthouse

This historic building in Union, the county seat on Monroe County. Monroe County was named after James Monroe, the 5th President and the the seat was named Union because it was a rendezvous site where troops would gather. The present day courthouse was built in 1881 - this was the third courthouse to be built on that site. This historic courthouse is on the walking tour of Union.